Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join ASPB
Site Search
Press Releases
Group HomeGroup Home Blog Home Group Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (34) posts »

ASPB Members Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Posted By Kathy R. Munkvold, Wednesday, May 01, 2013
Updated: Tuesday, May 07, 2013




May 1, 2013

CONTACT: Kathy Munkvold, Associate Director of Public Affairs, (301) 296-0914 (office)

ASPB Members Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Plant biologists join select group of top scientists

ROCKVILLE, MD — Several distinguished plant scientists – most of them members of the American Society of Plant Biologists (ASPB) – have been elected as members or foreign associates of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Five plant scientists were elected to this year’s (NAS) class:

New members

  • Ian BaldwinDirector, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology, Jena, Germany
  • Xuemei Chen Professor, University of California, Riverside; and Howard Hughes Medical Institute and the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation Investigator
  • Xing-Wang DengDaniel C. Eaton Chair of Plant Biology, Yale University
  • Jorge Dubcovsky Professor, University of California, Davis; and Howard Hughes Medical Institute and the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation Investigator

Foreign Associates

  • Graham FarquharDistinguished Professor, Research School of Biology, Australian National University

These plant biologists are among the 84 new members and 21 foreign associates just elected. There are now 2,179 active NAS members and 437 foreign associates.

# # #

The National Academy of Sciences is a private honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific research. Established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation signed by Abraham Lincoln, the academy acts as an official adviser to the federal government through its operating arm, the National Research Council, administered with its sister organizations, the National Academy of Engineering and the Institute of Medicine. Additional information about the academy and its members is available at

ASPB is a professional scientific society, headquartered in Rockville, Maryland, devoted to the advancement of the plant sciences worldwide. With a membership of some 4500 plant scientists from throughout the United States and more than 50 other nations, the Society publishes two of the most widely cited plant science journals: The Plant Cell and Plant Physiology. For more information about ASPB, please visit Also follow ASPB on Facebook at and on Twitter @ASPB.


Link to PDF of press release here: ASPB Members Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Tags:  National Academy of Sciences 

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
Hot News

7/9/2016 » 7/13/2016
Plant Biology 2016

9/5/2016 » 9/9/2016
12th ISPA Conference - Plants in action - coping with low oxygen

15501 Monona Drive
Rockville, MD 20855-2768 USA
Phone: 301-251-0560
Fax: 301-279-2996